The Brightbox Admin Account

Each Brightbox is preconfigured with a user named bbox-admin with full root-level privileges. It's there to be used by the Brightbox admin team to do work on your Brightbox at your request. For example, if you've purchased a fully managed system or you contract us to do a particular job, or we offer to help troubleshoot a support request you've made.

It is also sometimes used to confirm your machine is running ok, for example, after a hardware or network failure.

The account has no password and is instead protected by a (much stronger) SSH key. It is also only allowed to login from the Brightbox internal network - never from an untrusted network.

Disabling or Removing the account

This account may be unacceptable to some customers, so there are some steps you can take to disable or remove it.

Disable it

Disabling the account allows you to easily re-enable it later, to allow Brightbox to do a particular job for you.

Run the following command as your rails user:

sudo usermod -s /bin/false bbox-admin

To re-enable it:

sudo usermod -s /bin/bash bbox-admin

Remove it

To remove the account completely:

sudo deluser --remove-home bbox-admin
docs/brightboxadminaccount.txt · Last modified: 2009/05/08 17:04 (external edit)